Wednesday, 5 August 2015

50 years of Tunes - 1993 - The Breeders "Last Splash"

1993 was a tricky year. I might prefer PJ Harvey's Rid Of Me slightly more than 1992's winner Dry and Nirvana's In Utero might just edge Nevermind in my affections. In the end I went with the sophomore effort from Kim Deal's post Pixies project.

Kim had clearly been getting frustrated within the songwriting confines of the Pixies and had released The Breeders debut album, Pod, in 1990. Last Splash was released after the Pixies officially split up (first time round) and is full of great tunes. The sound of Kim really enjoying her freedom. I was lucky to see The Breeders play the whole of this album in full on a recent reunion tour & the threw in the whole of Pod in order for an encore. One of my favourite gigs.

1993 - The Breeders "Last Splash"

Released: August 1993
Label: 4AD
Producer: Kim Deal, Mark Freegard

Track List:
1. "New Year" 1:56
2. "Cannonball" 3:33
3. "Invisible Man" 2:48
4. "No Aloha" 2:07
5. "Roi" 4:11
6. "Do You Love Me Now?" (Kim Deal, Kelley Deal) 3:01
7. "Flipside" 1:59
8. "I Just Wanna Get Along" (Kim Deal, Kelley Deal) 1:44
9. "Mad Lucas" 4:36
10. "Divine Hammer" 2:41
11. "S.O.S." 1:31
12. "Hag" 2:55
13. "Saints" 2:32
14. "Drivin' on 9" (Dom Leone, Steve Hickoff) 3:22
15. "Roi (Reprise)"

(All tracks composed by Kim Deal, except where noted)


No comments: