Wednesday, 8 July 2015

50 years of Tunes - 1989 - Pixies "Doolittle"

Oh, hello. It's those Pixies again.

This is a magnificent album opening with the bass thrum of Debaser which is one of my all time favourite songs. Monkey Gone To Heaven might be the bands best known song. Tame & Crackity Jones are big live favourites. In 2009 I got to see them play the whole album in full and in order at Brixton Academy.

1989 - Pixies "Doolittle"

Released: April 1989
Label: 4AD
Producer: Gil Norton

Side one:
1. "Debaser"
2. "Tame"
3. "Wave of Mutilation"
4. "I Bleed"
5. "Here Comes Your Man"
6. "Dead"
7. "Monkey Gone to Heaven"

Side two:
8. "Mr. Grieves"
9. "Crackity Jones"
10. "La La Love You"
11. "No. 13 Baby"
12. "There Goes My Gun"
13. "Hey"
14. "Silver" (Francis/Deal)
15. "Gouge Away"

(All tracks composed by Black Francis, except where noted)


No comments: