Wednesday, 29 April 2015

50 years of tunes - 1979 - Stiff Little Fingers "Inflammable Material"

I feel like I've written about this album a lot. Rightly so though as it's undoubtedly one of my favourite albums and one that doesn't get mentioned as much as I think it deserves. Stiff Little Fingers are a fantastic live band and Jake Burns a great songwriter who found the perfect balance between pop catchiness and punk energy.

1979 - Stiff Little Fingers "Inflammable Material"

Released: February 1979
Label: Rough Trade
Producer: Geoff Travis, Mayo Thompson and Doug Bennett

Side one:
1. "Suspect Device"
2. "State of Emergency" (Burns)
3. "Here We Are Nowhere" (Henry Cluney)
4. "Wasted Life" (Burns)
5. "No More of That" (Cluney)
6. "Barbed Wire Love"
7. "White Noise"
8. "Breakout" (Burns)

Side two:
9. "Law and Order"
10. "Rough Trade"
11. "Johnny Was" (Bob Marley)
12. "Alternative Ulster"
13. "Closed Groove"

(All tracks composed by Jake Burns and Gordon Ogilvie except where indicated)


No comments: